My Experience with faulty Mouse Double Clicks & How I Solved My Problem

Jennifarbrown
3 min readAug 11, 2021

--

I really love to play games using my computer. In fact, I’ve been playing them for quite some time now. But in the past few weeks or so, I’ve noticed that my mouse’s clicks aren’t working correctly; they cause different things to happen.

I don’t know how it started, but I think it was because of the game “Clash of Clans.”

Mouse Started to trouble my Gaming Experience

This happened when I suddenly found that the double mouse clicks were registering instead of a single click. This caused me a lot of trouble in my game because I accidentally made a troop of Barbarians attack one of my Barracks.

The problem is that the mouse clicks were registering as faulty double clicks when they should have been single clicks. While this was occurring in Clash of Clans, it later spread to other online games like League of Legends and Team Fortress.

This caused me to make a lot of mistakes in my games, just as it did before.

Identifying the Problem in Mouse

So I uninstalled League of Legends and all of its components; that is, League of Legends itself plus Microsoft .NET Framework 4 Client Profile and Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable Package (x86) for 32-bit systems. I tried updating my drivers but in vain.

At the same time, I did the same for Team Fortress 2. This solved my Mouse problems in those games for a while, but those faulty clicks started to happen again, like the Clash of Clans.

I uninstalled and reinstalled that game several times with no effect; this was very frustrating.

I have had this mouse for a couple of weeks now, and I love it except that it has one problem. That is spurious double-clicking. What happens is that even if I am just moving the mouse around randomly or slowly dragging windows around, whenever my computer goes idle (so applications aren’t making any sounds).

The solution that barely worked for me

I click once on the mouse button, and it will immediately double-click. This is a big issue in games that reacts to every single click of the mouse, for instance, Diablo 3.

Whenever I’m playing and stop moving the mouse around so much, I get multiple clicks from just a slow movement of my hand over the button, which makes me unable to control my character without clicking exactly twice to move him around.

This is even worse when playing games like Rayman, where a double-click will have you do the same jump again in midair, which can be devastating if timed right. Luckily there’s a simple solution: simply press down on the mouse button for about 1/2 second before clicking, and it won’t double.

This solution worked for me for this game, but then the problem started affecting my desktop experience as well, I’ve seen a few threads about this, but they don’t really answer the source of mouse double clicks.

For example, tonight, I had a game where my teammates spread rumors that I was using scripts as I was picking up muse lock in short matches only with ease.

Making Sure My Mouse has Hardware Problem

So I decided to find a solution on Google, which I found in the form of an online mouse double click test on a website.

Once I checked my mouse on this program, It turns out that my mouse switch buttons were worn out, causing it to register double instead of single standard clicks.

Eventually, I had to buy a new computer mouse and say goodbye to my beloved mouse that I was using for almost 3 years.

A Solution for Mouse With Abnormal Double Clicks

The other solution I found online might come in handy for few users who have little life left in their mouse switches but still facing this hectic problem.

So, the solution is simple and relatively straightforward. Simply go to the mouse properties using windows search assistant or merely press the R key while holding the window button (Window + R), then type main.cpl, and hit the enter button to open the mouse settings instantly; in the buttons section; you can adjust the double click speed as per your convenience.

--

--

Jennifarbrown
0 Followers

A driven, proven UI/UX Designer who is committed and keen to growing and transforming into a competitive professional